Ah, return at long last!

Unfortunately I have to admit that I have taken a hiatus away from the blog, albeit unwillingly. The charger to our laptop has endured its final days, and here I sit using my mom’s computer. Midas has been doing excellently and I have begun to trail ride him more and more. He is also improving in his schooling and I am pretty happy with where we’ve been going. He has a high amount of energy and great stamina that I think he will do wonderfully in endurance and hopefully eventing as well. I have discovered that he has some teeth growing in and as a result has been reluctant towards the bit, I’ve resolved this by using a side pull instead. He seems relieved that I am no longer asking him to take a bit, and does well bitless. Soon I will have a dentist take a look at his mouth and with any luck begin rectifying the changes going on so our bitted work can continue.

On another note, he has developed some windgalls on his right rear fetlock, positioned slightly above the actual fetlock joint. They are soft, squishy, cool, and seem otherwise un-problematic. Farrier is going to take a look Tuesday and if no change occurs soon a vet visit will be in order. But really he is doing very well and will be a force to reckon with once he is fit!

 

Leave a comment